My Mediterranean dinner party

6 Mar

Throwing dinner parties for my friends and family is one of my favorite things to do.  Some people may think the job of cooking for a group is daunting.  However, if you organize and plan, it can be very enjoyable.

When planning a dinner party, I find that it is easiest to decide on a menu when I have a theme in mind.  The easiest way to do this is to center it around a certain event or cuisine.  This is exactly what I did when I planned a birthday dinner for a good friend last month.  Since we both grew up in an area rich in middle eastern culture and full of wonderful restaurants, I decided to go with a Mediterranean theme for the dinner.

Here is what was on my menu:

Hummus and Baba Ghanoush with garlic rosemary pita chips and fresh vegetables

IMAG0399

 

 

Kale salad with olives, onions and toasted almonds in a lemon tahini dressing

IMAG0403

 

Mujadrah (traditional Lebanese dish of lentils, brown rice and caramelized onions)

IMAG0407

 

In order to share my dinner party ideas, I’ve decided to start a new series on my blog.  Each one will feature a different theme and menu that I created.  Some will contain recipes, others just descriptions and photos.

If there is ever a dish that you must have the recipe for, don’t hesitate to contact me!

zenutritionfoods@gmail.com   (323) 379-5140

 

Stay tuned for my next post in the series…..family brunch!

Leave a Reply

