Hectic but healthy

19 Feb

Healthy while traveling

Lately my life has been a bit hectic with out of town trips and long work days (which is why this post is so delayed).  Being away from home also means that you have to eat away from home which can easily throw you off a healthy track as sometimes options may be limited.  During travel it is especially important to keep yourself healthy in order to offset the stress that traveling can have on your body.  I find that thinking ahead and being prepared is the key to staying on a healthy track.

When I know I’m going to have a long day at work, fruit and nuts are my go to.  Something easy to eat on the go such as an apple, pear or banana are good choices.  Fruit provides you with fiber and carbohydrates and the nuts with protein.  These are easy to pack, eat quickly and will satisfy you and give you energy and nutrients to maintain your energy and blood sugar throughout the day.

Here are some ideas of snacks that I like to have on hand with me:

  1. Almonds
  2. Apples
  3. Bananas
  4. Coconut water
  5. Ezekiel tortillas with nut butter
  6. Black beans and rice
  7. Flax seed crackers
  8. Rice cakes topped with avocado

applealmonds

bananaavocado

I have been lucky enough to stay with friends most of the time when I travel which means I have access to a kitchen and can prepare meals for us.  However, there are times when I am staying in a hotel and in unfamiliar city.  In this case, the internet is my friend!  Smartphone apps such as Yelp and Happy Cow allow me to search for healthy, vegan food options in my area.

Healthy at home

It is just as important to stay healthy while you are at home as well.  Nowadays people pack their schedules so tightly and it seems like there is a constant pressure to be doing something all the time.  Having such a schedule does not leave much time for anything let alone relaxing and cooking a nice meal.

When I know that I am going to have a busy week with work, traveling or whatever life might throw at me, I make sure that I am prepared.  Yes, again preparation and thinking ahead is key.  Otherwise when you come home after a long day to nothing in the pantry or fridge, the urge to get take out is just too great.

I like to make food preparation part of my routine and even look forward to it.  Typically I will do this on a Sunday but it depends on my schedule for that week, sometimes it ends up being a Tuesday.  The great thing about Los Angeles is that you can find a farmers market any day of the week!

So, here’s my meal prep agenda:

  1. Head to the local farmers market to stock up on fruits and veggies, I plan my meals based on what is in season.
  2. Make a trip to Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods.  This is where I get all the pantry ingredients I’ll need for the week like any grains, beans, nuts, seeds and spices.
  3. Go home, put on some music and get everything ready for the week.  This is what I will typically prepare for the week:
    1. Wash and cut up and fruits and vegetables
    2. Prepare a batch of quinoa, brown rice or other whole grain
    3. Prepare a batch of dried beans or lentils
    4. Make a few salad dressings to have on hand, see my blog post Super Salad Dressings for some recipes
    5. Dry some fruit and make some raw crackers to have on hand for snacks

PicsArt_1390949604707

This preparation usually takes me about 1 – 1 1/2 hours, depending on what type of fruits and vegetables I bought.  With the music pumping, sun shining (and occasionally a glass of wine) this prep work is fun and effortless.  I can rest easy knowing that my fridge and pantry is stocked with healthy staples so when I’m pressed for time later on in the week, I know that I’ll still be able to have a good home cooked meal.  I also think that doing this helps to set a healthy and calm tone for the rest of the week.

Bottom line…when it comes to staying healthy all it takes is a little thought and preparation.

Don’t want to do the prep work yourself? No fear!  I am here to help!

I want to share the gift of good health with everyone so I will come to your home and do all the work for you.

Contact me today!     zenutritionfoods@gmail.com     (323) 379-5140

Leave a Reply

